Impending Doom, or an Opportunity to Spread Your Wings… Your Choice

Positive Thinking

“Everything is going to fall right into place.  It’s going to be okay.  Everything always works out for you.  Life just keeps getting better.”  These are the statements I make when life suddenly throws a curveball, or when I’m making big decisions that feel right, but look scary.  I’ve developed this positive self-talk over the last couple of years after going through a period where I tested the waters with positive thinking, which proved to be effective in accelerating the trajectory of my life.  At the time, I was bombarded by negativity (my own, as well as other peoples).  This old pattern of thinking told me that if I didn’t drudge in my own filth from my past mistakes, then I was terribly delusional.  The irony was, if I had sat around and drudged through my shit, I couldn’t have opened myself up to the incoming opportunities, or trusted my gut (which was a foghorn at the time).  I would have been listening to my head; a nagging, biting Chihuahua at my heels.  My gut was like, “GO FOR IT!  Take a chance.  Trust that everything will be okay and it will.  Try complete positive thinking out for once and see how everything will fall into place for you…”  It championed me.  Who the hell would you listen to in that situation?  (The Chihuahua… Really?!)

I haven’t made the best decisions along the way.  I’m still living and learning.  In retrospect, I would have trusted myself a little bit more, and stretched myself much further.  What I’ve learned the most throughout this experience of positive thinking and moving forward, is that you can’t play it safe.  If you’re going to go for it, you’ve got to freefall once in a while.  That’s the scary part, but it’s also liberating because you realize that when you spread your wings, you’re inviting the universe to breathe the wind beneath you. You don’t believe me? Try it and tell me otherwise.  When you let go, you’ll be carried.  This is simply a law of nature.  If you are doing everything to the best of your ability, and you have a vision, while letting go of outcome, and you keep focus on that vision, I guarantee everything that occurs thereafter (no matter how unpredictable), is a step toward that vision.  Things that seem like setbacks are usually opportunities to shed old ideas, worn out beliefs, tired ways of thinking, or they are there to ground you even deeper.  Sometimes we have to drudge through old shit, but usually it’s not all at once.  There is so much grace and abundance when you surrender and then spread your wings.  When things come up that seem like a punishment, it’s usually an opportunity to change your thinking around it.  (i.e. This is coming up for me today because I am able to handle it now. No matter what, I am lovingly being guided and protected.   I will overcome this because I always do. Things will work out and everything will be okay…).  Whatever you need to say to yourself in order to deliver empowerment to your subconscious will pave the path for a magical unfolding of events.  It will seem magical, but that’s simply the power of positive thinking.

There is a catch, however.  You can’t be an idiot or an ungrounded, irresponsible asshole when you make the decision to let go of the past and move forward.  There are always people to think about.  You can’t be self-centered and squirrely.  You must be rooted in who you are, and confident in your stride.  If you’re harming yourself or another human being along the way, you’ve got to stop and take responsibility.  You have to regroup and really look at your intensions.  Living in blind faith is not a dog-eat-dog philosophy.  It’s a humbling experience and you should consistently reground yourself.  If you are affecting other people negatively – then something’s definitely off.  The universe is a loving place for all (it truly is – it’s simply a matter of trusting in that abundance of love.  If you think it’s an unfair world, then that will be your experience).  If you’re moving too fast, or pushing too hard to get where you’re going, then stop and surrender again.  Keep surrendering along the way.  We (recovering addicts) have a tendency to shove our way through life to get what we want.  Once in a while, you’ve got to take a backseat to what’s occurring and hang in there, silent. Sometimes you hit a wall, or you feel like you’re failing.  This is just another opportunity to grow, stretch yourself and try a new way of thinking.  Laugh aloud and don’t take life too seriously, but dear gawd, think of others before yourself.  If you have children, their well-being comes first. If you have a spouse, communicate with them along the way. If you have a job depending on you, be responsible. And if you don’t know all of this yet, then you probably need a lot more grounding before you should be trying to fly.  Ground yourself.  I can’t repeat this enough.  Keep centering yourself and rooting yourself in who you are, and in your recovery, and in your practice of positive thinking.  Get a little air beneath your wings and take a small leap before you go jumping off of cliffs.  For example, if you have a vision for your life (like say you want to change careers to save the world from bad nutrition, but your household is depending on your income from your position at the bank as a teller), take small actions to get to the point of saving the world from bad nutrition.  Don’t go out and quit your job today and start preaching on the streets about real food as opposed to GMO’s.  You have to have a plan, or some kind of idea how to shift from one career to the next.  If you don’t have a family depending on you, then being brave like that may be okay, but always consider who you’re going to affect.  That’s all I’m saying.  We don’t need to rush to get anywhere.  Like I said, when you have a vision for your life, and you do the next right thing, everything will fall into place at the exact right time.  Let go along the way, but don’t be foolish.  There is no hurry.  When you have to make a quick decision, weigh everything out.  Feel yourself out.  Bounce ideas off of people who are actually wise, not idiots who follow the crowd.  (Sorry, but there are a lot of those).  Use commonsense, along with your heart.

Along the way, notice your fear, hone in on your doubt, but don’t succumb to either of those things.  The fear is a mockery.  The doubt is self-deprecating.  They are phantoms who come along to try and hold you back, but once you identify them, they have no power over you.  Oh, and they will come.  They always do.  The more aware you are, the less they will taunt you, and pretty soon you will be grateful for their significance.  They are the arrows pointing you in the right direction, which is forward marching through that shit.

Everything is going to be okay.  Things will work out because they always do.  If I need to take a step back, I will.  If I have to face something difficult, I can handle it now.  I’m not going to sink into the stress.  I’m going to trust that what is occurring is for the best.  Eyes open wide.  Heart filled with love.  Trust.  Trust.  Trust.  Be present.  Stay focused.  Know that this universe is guiding me, protecting me and full of abundance.  I don’t know the end result, but that’s okay because this is simply an experience.  None of the difficult stuff is the end of me.  It’s the journey that matters, not the destination…

Leave a Reply

