Words Get in the Way (Coming From a Writer)

Debate

Wherever we turn, there is an ongoing debate.  The latest I’ve been reading and hearing about is the debate between parents who vaccinate their children, and those who choose not to vaccinate their children.  I’m just wondering what all the fuss is about, deriving from the parents of children who are vaccinated.  If your children are vaccinated, then why are you so concerned about the damn measles?  Your kid is not going to contract the disease at all.  Then there is the irony that these same parents who are furious about the non-immunized children are (more often than not) allowing their children to eat food that is chalk full of chemicals and sugar, which is a much greater killer than the measles.  What we eat, is a direct result of our health, and look how many of us are obese, sick, over medicated and dying of heart disease and cancer each year.  WAY more than will ever be killed by the flu or measles.  We actually have control over what we put in our mouths, yet our health is out of control because of what we put in our mouths.  Perhaps we should give the government control of what we eat also.  You know, to save us from ourselves because we are so naturally self-destructive, and we can’t help ourselves from stopping at Burger King twice a week because it’s so convenient and cheap.  Maybe the government should crack down on fast food restaurants to stop the epidemic of terrible health.  How far is our lack of personal responsibilty and self-awareness going to push us away from having a free-will until we don’t have a choice of what toilet paper we use?

I suppose all these debates occurring are simply fillers between natural disasters and impending wars.  There has to be something to gnaw on – something to argue about.  A rift is needed to keep the country in constant segregation.  We’re divided as a country – as a whole planet really.  Politics thrives on debate.  Religion empowers itself through its regurgitation of misinterpreted scripture.  The truth is nowhere to be found in people’s opinions or their watered down interpretations of words written thousands of years ago.  The reality is, we are parrots and puppets being duped into debating these issues, which are never resolved (because people who want their freedom will always fight for a choice in the matter).  The final resolution is to give up our own power to someone in authority, because we can’t figure out how to be responsible for our own individual issues.  We’re too busy worrying about everyone else while we’re smoking, drinking and driving through fast-food restaurants.  Save yourself from measles by getting your immunizations, and then go overdose on drugs.  That’s how incredibly stupid our rational truly is. Seriously.

I try not to debate.  I mean, I get scripture thrown at me once in a while because I speak my mind, which goes against a lot of what I learned in church growing up.  I appreciate that people want to keep “God’s Word” alive and everything. I know they mean well, and they probably think I’m very mislead, but if they really get to the bottom of what I’m saying, they would understand that I have taken everything I’ve read and learned in church and whittled it down to the raw material that I can use in my everyday life.  I don’t care what Paul wrote, or what John spoke.  Just show me what’s real, and teach me how to live in a way so that I am no longer suffering.  Teach me to love, and to be compassionate.  Teach me to be present for my life, and to be kind to others.  Teach me how to be genuine. Show me the way by being an example, not by memorizing the Bible and throwing it in my face. Bottom line that shit for me. Be it. That’s how I do it.

I got caught up in scripture for years, and I was spun out during all of those years.  Self-destructive to the point of nearly killing myself.  I’m not blaming the Bible for my behavior, but I am saying that there is a wisdom to living this life that has nothing to do with a story about a man who died on a cross, or figuring out which political party to join.  Wisdom is not in the words that Martin Luther King spoke, or in the churches, or in an AA meeting.  Wisdom is a knowing; it’s a way of life.  It’s how people compassionately respond to life, not how they negligently react to circumstances, or to mainstream news.  Wisdom is an action word, not a pontification.  And I’m stupid to even be talking about wisdom, because it’s impossible to discover it in someone’s words.  You have to live it.  You have to be it.  And the same goes for “truth,” which is also greatly debated.  Truth isn’t breaking down someone’s dirty laundry and airing it on television.  Behind someone’s terrible behavior, is their conditioning by another person, or a group of people, or a society.  So the truth can never be truly exposed, or offered in complete wholeness.  It’s very subjective, and we debate subjectivity, which is stupid.

The bottom line, is get to the bottom line.  Stop pointing fingers at other people and stand solidly in your own shoes.  Fine if you don’t agree with someone’s choice, but no one should ever have to wage war over having a choice. Choice was freely given to each one of us. Yes the world is in a chaotic state, but the only way you can make a change is by practicing everything you wish the world to be.  Turn that shit around on yourself.  Once you do, you won’t care what other people are doing, or how they’re responding to life because you’ll realize that the real work to be done, never ends with you.  You keep finding something wrong with other people, just to discover that you have more work to do on yourself.  When you get to a place where you aren’t judging, and you discover complete compassion for even the worst of human beings, then you’ve gotten somewhere, but instead of pontificating truth and wisdom, you’ll be more concerned about how you can be of service to them.  You will have transformed.  You will have been set free from debating subjective matters, and from the maddening thoughts that keep you in a state of constant suffering. I’m not there yet. I doubt I ever will be, so I have no time to worry about the way other people live their lives.

I know most people don’t care about what I’m saying here, but I do.  It’s a reminder to myself to shut up and just be (and go stuff my face with a damn carrot once in a while instead of debating).  If we want to solve our greatest issues, we’ve got to live the resolve, instead of debating them. What we debate isn’t ever the issue anyway. We need to eradicate ignorance before we worry about the measles.

10 thoughts on “Words Get in the Way (Coming From a Writer)

  1. I feel I need to say something here. The reason people get passionate about vaccination is that children die. In Australia, several newborn babies have died of whooping cough when they are too young to have been vaccinated but have come into contact with someone who had the disease. An unimaginably horrific death. I am also one of those parents who vaccinate who you imagine stuffs her children with junk and sugar. That is simply not the case and I cannot imagine where such a harsh and unnecessary generalisation would come from. I found this post downright hurtful.

    1. I appreciate your comment a lot, littlemsjones. I didn’t write this to hurt anyone. I wrote it to put things into perspective. Many people do not immunize their children because they feel the risks are greater than the possibility of contracting a disease. They do not trust their government at all. Afterall, it is a fact that the general public is often used as guinea pigs in several government tests. People want to have a choice before they inject unknown chemicals into their children’s bodies. When my children were too young for vacs, and susceptible to disease, I kept them home with me, away from the public. But again, this post is an overall big picture outlook. It’s simply a blog. An opinion. Thank you for yours.

  2. Also, I should state that my children are vaccinated as well, and I struggle to keep them eating healthy. The thing is, I know my shit stinks. I don’t expect other people or the government to be responsible for me or my family’s health. My point is to take responsibility for ourselves, and instead of debating, go out and do something real.

    1. I appreciate your response. I find that the single most difficult thing about parenting is that everyone seems to have an opinion on what you’re doing. I react to that, probably because in many ways I am unsure that what I am doing is right.

  3. I have to say you have persuaded my thoughts on the vaccination issue. I haven’t debated it publicly or anything but I have thought in my head. I hadn’t even thought about if your own family was vaccinated why you should bother and bicker about others. Great point. Thank you for that. Thank you for such a great post. They say “great minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events and small minds discuss people.” I think there is a lot of truth in that.

    1. Thank you, Dustin! The other thing with vacs, is if your child is susceptible to a disease, or of getting sick because they have a low immunity, it isn’t the rest of the world’s responsibility to keep them safe… you know? It’s the parent’s responsibilty 100% to keep them healthy and safe. If that means homeschooling, then so be it, but don’t put it on other parents who are trying to make the best decisions for their kids as well, which may mean that they don’t want them immunized.

      1. No problem. That’s another great point. Allowing people to chose what they do should be up to them, unless it directly affects other people. Which in this case, it would not affect other people unless they were intentionally negligent. If that makes sense. Lol I’ve been involved mentally because my wife and I are going to Disneyland next month and she told me about the outbreak there. Seems we are both covered and can’t get measles. It’s roller coaster time! 😉

Leave a Reply

