If It Were My Last Day on Earth

Last day on Earth

A lot of times when I wake up in the morning I ask myself what I would do today if it were my last day on Earth.  I would most likely run as fast as I could for as long as I could, and sing every song that came through my earphones aloud.  I would dance on the sidewalk and in the street.  I would learn something about every person I met.  I would hug just about all of them.  I would give my possessions away to those who needed them and empty my wallet to anyone who asked me for money. I would call everyone of my family members and tell them how much they meant to me and let them know how they influenced my life (my beautiful and dynamic life).  I would genuinely thank a lot of people, and gently bow in the way of Namaste (I honor the divinity within you…).  I would pass out the books I’ve written.  I would take my two children for a long drive and tell them just about everything I know about being alive and about people.  I would tell them to follow their hearts, to take chances, to not be afraid to fail, to question everyone and everything, to listen to their gut, to use their voice, and to search within themselves for all the answers.  “God is not outside of you,” I would remind them, and I would say, “When you’re feeling disconnected, or confused, or angry, or weird, stop everything you are doing and be of service to someone else.  This is the answer to just about every problem.  Be of service.  It takes you right out of your head into alignment with your heart and soul.”  We would go to the beach, and no matter the weather, I would swim in the ocean one more time.  If I had a boat, I would sail.  If there were a parachute, I would jump out of a plane.  If there was someone I loved that I hadn’t yet told, I would tell them that day before I left the earth, and I wouldn’t care if they loved me back.  I would just want them to know.  I would spend money on food I loved, and eat like a queen for the day.  I would write one last letter (or a few of them) and mail them to people I haven’t talked to in a while.  I would get on my knees in the state of surrender that has kept me sober, and I would tell God how incredibly grateful I am for this human experience.  I would mention my health, my challenges, the modern conveniences that I took for granted, and the people I encountered that showed me who I was. I would cry the tears that I’ve been holding back, because a good cry clears away the gunk in the ole vessel of my soul.  I would definitely hug a tree because I just love trees.  I love the relationship we have with the plants and animals, so I would thank everything for being a part of my existence, especially the sun.  If it were raining, I would stand under it until I was soaked.  I would play and record the one song I’ve ever written, on a grand piano in the middle of a mall or in an art gallery. I would pick or buy myself a bunch of sunflowers, roses or tulips, depending on the season.  I would inhale the aroma of everything I could smell, and touch my keyboard as if it were a treasure, because typing is the one thing I’ve probably taken for granted that has moved me forward in my day-to-day life.  I would stare into an orchid just one more time to get a glimpse of the goddess fairy face.  I would definitely climb a mountain, even if it were at night, and I would let the stars be my guide.  I would not be afraid of being eaten by a wild animal or of getting lost.  I would build a campfire and howl at the moon.  I would laugh with everything in me.  I would laugh until I was laying on the ground in awe of the cosmos, remembering that they are a reflection of me.  I am all the elements that are within the stars and I would be grateful for my awareness of this truth, because it has kept me in a place of knowing that I am everything that I ever need.  I would touch the dirt on the ground, take my shoes off and walk around.  I would love with passion and speak with a knowing (rather than rambling), and I would find a way to fly that day, even if it was to ask a stranger pilot to take me for one last spin above the earth.  I wouldn’t be afraid of anything or anyone, or what people thought of me.  I would want to leave the earth knowing that each person I encountered that day knew how special, whole, and incredibly unique they were.  I would never stop smiling that day, knowing that a smile can light up the surrounding world.  I would eat dark chocolate and ice cream without a thought of getting fat, and I would stare into the mirror and tell myself that I was beautiful – not because of how I appear to the world, or because of my remaining youth, but because when I look in the mirror – I finally see my spirit.  I would climb a tree as far as I could go, and I would read a passage out of my favorite book while I was up there.  I would spin with my arms out, and skip, and do one last somersault and cartwheel.  I would hold someone’s hand and tell them that they mattered to me. I wouldn’t be anything other than myself. I would be proud of whom I have become and completely aware of the trials I have overcome.

And if it were my last day on Earth I wouldn’t look at my phone a thousand times, check my email or watch Netflix or YouTube.  I wouldn’t ever look at the time. I wouldn’t waste a moment on my last day here.  I wouldn’t waste one breath or say one word I didn’t mean.  I wouldn’t spend my energy on anger, gossip, envy, negativity or revenge. I would not worry about a damn thing.  I wouldn’t hesitate either. I certainly wouldn’t go to work or wear a suit (unless it were a bathing suit), but I WOULD write one more inspiring poem, or blog or paragraph, and I would do it because it made me feel alive to write.

If it were my last day on Earth, my entire life that day would be an expression of gratitude.  That’s how I would spend my last day on Earth.  How about you?

Leave a Reply

