Is There Another Route to Recovery Besides AA?

Powerless

Even before I arrived to the conclusion that I was an alcoholic, the answer to my own recovery was waiting for me in the rooms of AA along with the suggestion to get there as quickly as possible.  Most of us resist these meetings because of preconceived notions that we will be joining some kind of cult.  Others of us find ourselves reluctant, because going to meetings means we are doomed to eternal sobriety, which sounds terrible.  I’ve been sober for a while now, through the help of a behavior modification program.  I tried AA prior to getting into treatment, and I got a sponsor and everything, but my inner addict was ruthless, and I found ways to circumvent the program which lead me to my own drunken demise. 

Treatment somehow worked for me, but not everyone can take this route.  It’s a time commitment and many of us do not have the luxury of time.  In treatment, the twelve steps are the crux of most programs, but what if some of us are tired of being overrun by “programs.”  It sounds like “programming” to me.  Isn’t there an easier way to become and remain sober?  Also, what is all this powerlessness stuff about?  I’m not willing to say I’m powerless over anything.  For me, my powerlessness is another word for “acceptance” that I am someone who cannot drink like a normal person.  It is also more about surrendering to my own self-will and tapping into something deeper within myself, rather than claiming that I must surrender the bottle.  Our self-will is a monster, and it needs to be put in check, but this is something that we have the power to overcome, because we are created intelligently.

According to a former AA member, there is a much easier and shorter way to recovery.  It’s really simple.  It’s… (get this)… complete abstinence.  The author and founder of this road to recovery is Jack Trimpey.  His book is titled, ‘Rational Recovery’ and it teaches the addict to recognize his addictive voice, which is always causing problems.  Jack Trimpey cuts to the chase in his new way of thinking about recovery, and does not believe that addiction is a disease.  Rational Recovery is simple, and has a very high abstinence rate.  People who can think for themselves, and want an alternative to a lifetime commitments of meetings and sponsors, should find out for themselves if Rational Recovery is right for them.

I’m still learning about Rational Recovery, but so far, it really makes a lot of sense to me.  I feel like I should have been given the opportunity to chose which route to recovery I wanted to take, but AA is so ingrained in our society, as the only way to true recovery.  I am all about taking responsibility for my life and for the future of my life.  I think Rational Recovery is a responsible answer to an irresponsible problem.

Check it out for yourself, and any feedback is greatly welcome and appreciated!

One thought on “Is There Another Route to Recovery Besides AA?

Leave a Reply

